Home Menu

National executive


National executive acts as the principal democratic governing body within the union, it is responsible for implementing the decisions of NAHT’s Annual Conference and AGM, for determining policy in between those annual meetings, and for directing the work and strategy of NAHT.

National executive members are elected representatives of their sector or regional constituencies and are responsible for providing a voice for members, acting as stewards of the union, and for providing strategic direction to the union’s affairs.

Contact our democracy and governance team to learn more about the role and get in touch with NAHT's national executive. 

The role and responsibilities of national executive members

All members of NAHT's national executive are elected to represent a region or sector of our membership. National executive members:

  • participate in the strategic oversight of the union’s affairs and direct the work of NAHT between Annual Conferences
  • oversee the implementation of policy decisions from Annual Conference and participate in determining the policy priorities for the union
  • participate in national committees, sector councils, and task and finish groups to support and guide the campaigns, policy, and governance work of the union
  • give voice to the views of members in their regions and sectors
  • provide support to local officials through their participation in the regional democracy of the union.

National executive nominations

As part of the triennial election cycle, the following national executive seats are now open for nomination:

Due to vacancy outside of the triennial election cycle, national executive has the following shorter-term length seats open for nomination (members will need to login to access the nomination forms): 

The nomination period for all seats will run until 31 May 2024, and all nomination forms must be completed digitally.

Nominations should come from an NAHT branch and must be decided by a vote at the branch level to nominate the nominee. Please contact governance and executive officer Adam Ives at adam.ives@naht.org.uk if you have any questions.

Regional representatives


  • Alan Garnett
  • Dawn Copping
  • Steve Mills

East Midlands

  • Joanne Sanchez-Thompson
  • Nazma Jassat

Greater London

  • Patrick Foley
  • Dave Woods
  • James Lacey
  • Diana Ohene-Darko

North East

  • Angi Gibson
  • Dame Nicola Stephenson

North West

  • Amanda Hulme
  • Simon Kidwell (president)
  • Nicola Kearney
  • Keith Wright

South Central

  • Jo Ayres
  • Julie Kelly

South East

  • Hilary Goldsmith
  • Ollie Burcombe

South West

  • Paul Gosling (immediate past president)
  • Lorna Legg

West Midlands

  • Emily Proffitt
  • Michelle Sheehy
  • Amy Lassman


  • Martin Vayro
  • Vacancy
  • David Pattison


  • Dean Taylor
  • Huw Jones

Northern Ireland

  • Clare Majury
  • Jonny Gray 


  • Judith Stott (treasurer)

Sector representatives

Early years

  • Judy Shaw


  • Graham Frost
  • Sarah Hewitt-Clarkson


  • Jackie Bartley
  • Stuart Beck


  • Marijke Miles
  • Steve Howell

Deputy and assistant heads

  • Vacancy
  • James Hawkins

School business leaders

  • Rachel Younger (vice-president)

Middle leaders (Edge)

  • Selena Bartlett 

Life members

  • John Killeen