Call us: 0300 30 30 333
Home Menu

T Levels

College website.jpg

What subjects are available?

The first three T Levels began at selected sites in September 2020 and were courses in:

  • Digital production, design and development
  • Design, surveying and planning
  • Education

Further T Level qualifications are set to begin in September 2021 in:

  • Building services engineering for construction
  • Digital business services
  • Digital support services
  • Health
  • Healthcare science
  • Onsite construction
  • Science

The technical qualifications for the above seven T Levels have now been approved by the Institute of Apprenticeships and accredited by Ofqual for teaching from September 2021. You can find more information here.

Structure and certification

T Level students spend 80% of the course in the classroom, learning the skills that employers need. The other 20% is an industry placement in which these skills are put into action. Through this, the courses include, as compulsory:

  • A technical qualification, incorporating:
    • Core theory, concepts and skills for an industry area
    • Specialist skills and knowledge for an occupation or career
  • An industry placement with an employer
  • A minimum standard in maths and English, if students have not already achieved them.

Students who complete their T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction*. More information on grading and certification can be found here, including information on the comparability of T Levels and A Levels in UCAS tariff points.

What funding will be available?

Additional funding is required for schools to successfully introduce and deliver T Levels. The government has set out details of how T levels will be funded here. They have also announced a third round of T Level capital funding of £135m, details of which and application forms can be found here.​

First published 17 February 2021