Call us: 0300 30 30 333
Home Menu

Regional Schools Commissioners

Governance laptop and glasses.jpg

 In April 2014, the Department for Education (DfE) announced the introduction of the roles of Regional Schools Commissioners. Eight regions throughout England have been identified to carry out responsibilities delegated by the Secretary of State. These include overseeing academies, free schools, university technical colleges and studio schools in their regions.

Each Regional Schools Commissioner is supported by a Head Teacher Board, which uses its local knowledge and professional expertise to offer advice. Further information regarding Head Teacher Board members may be found on NAHT’s website (see Leadership Links, issue 174, 24 April 2014).

This article is available to NAHT members only.

To view this advice log in or  become a member