

Congress House Great Russell Street London WC1B 3LS 020 7636 4030 tuc.org.uk

Rt Hon Liz Truss MP Minister for Women and Equalities Sanctuary Buildings 16-20 Great Smith Street London SW1P 3BT contact: Matt Dykes direct line: 020 7467 1245 email: mdykes@tuc.org.uk

15 July 2021

Dear Minister

## Equality, respect and safety for LGBT workers

As Minister for Women and Equalities, we look to you to be a champion of equality, respect and safety in government.

There are more than a million working people who are LGBT+ in the United Kingdom. We write to express our concern at government inaction to address the inequality experienced by LGBT+ people.

We were dismayed that you have jettisoned the 2018 LGBT Action Plan, which was based on evidence from more than 100,000 LGBT+ people. And we were disappointed at the decision to disband the LGBT Advisory Panel.

Nearly two in five LGBT workers have been harassed or discriminated against by a colleague. A quarter have been discriminated against by their manager, and around one in seven by a client or patient. That rises to nearly half of all trans workers experiencing bullying or harassment at work. Seven in ten LGBT workers have experienced sexual harassment – and one in eight LBT women have experienced sexual assault or rape at work.

We urge you to consult with unions on a strategy to make sure workplaces are safe for all LGBT+ people. As a minimum, the government should introduce a new duty on employers to protect workers from harassment by customers and clients.

It should also create a specific duty on employers to prevent sexual harassment. And it should reinstate employment tribunals' powers to make wider recommendations to employers, to root out systemic failings and cultures of bullying and harassment. We call for the recruitment of a new LGBT Advisory Panel, with a clear mandate and trade union representation.



We add our voices to those calling for an immediate ban on all forms of conversion therapy, and for a simplified, free, statutory gender-recognition process, based on self-declaration.

We look to the government not only to promote equality and eliminate discrimination against LGBT+ people but also to take a principled lead in building an inclusive culture in words and deeds that supports LGBT+ people's safety, dignity and equality so that LGBT+ people can thrive and live authentically.

The UK can do better. Let's lead the world in LGBT+ equality once again.

Yours sincerely

Frances O'Grady, General Secretary, TUC Christina McAnea, General Secretary, Unison Len McCluskey, General Secretary, Unite Gary Smith, General Secretary, GMB Mary Bousted, Joint General Secretary, NEU Paddy Lillis, General Secretary, USDAW Patrick Roach, General Secretary, NASUWT Dave Ward, General Secretary, CWU Mark Serwotka, General Secretary, PCS Mike Clancy, General Secretary, Prospect Jo Grady, General Secretary, UCU Michael Lynch, General Secretary, RMT Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, EIS Paul W Fleming, General Secretary, Equity Claire Sullivan, Director of Employment Relations and Union Services, CSP Jon Skewes, Executive Director, RCM Matt Wrack, General Secretary, Fire Brigades Union Michelle Stanistreet, General Secretary, NUJ Roy Rickhuss, General Secretary, Community Horace Trubridge, General Secretary, MU Nicola Hubert, General Secretary, POA Paul Whiteman, General Secretary, NAHT Ged Nichols, General Secretary, Accord Mick Whelan, General Secretary, ASLEF Manuel Cortes, General Secretary, TSSA Dave Penman, General Secretary, FDA Sarah Woolley, General Secretary, BFAWU Mark Dickinson, General Secretary, Nautilus International Tim Rose, General Secretary, Nationwide Group Staff Union

Steve Jamieson, General Secretary, Royal College of Podiatry Andy Burman, General Secretary, BDA Zita Holbourne, Joint National Chair, Artists' Union England Ian Lawrence, General Secretary, NAPO Brian Linn, General Secretary, Aegis the Union Paul Donaldson, General Secretary, HCSA Sam Aitkenhead, General Secretary, British Orthoptic Society Michele Gregson, General Secretary, NSEAD Julia Georgiou, Chair, NHBC Staff Association Michael Schwaabe, President, The Association of Flight Attendants Maria Exall, Chair, TUC LGBT+ Committee Gloria Mills, Chair, TUC Race Relations Committee Dave Allan and Ann Galpin, Co-Chairs, TUC Disabled Workers Committee Sue Ferns, Chair, TUC Womens Committee Patrick Roach, Chair, TUC Anti-Racism Task Force